Bethany’s Waffles: Position of the Couch and Picking Accent Chairs

Posted on

For years I’ve been trying to bribe my sister-in-law, Bethany, to move out here to Seattle, but it hasn’t worked.  Now that she and her husband, Dave, have opened their own photography studio in Des Moines, Iowa — Dreamstate Photography — I might as well just give up.  But I won’t hold any grudges; in fact, I’m more than happy to post Bethany’s waffle about how best to freshen up their photography studio’s front meeting room.

Here is Bethany to explain her waffles:

Our current studio will hopefully not be our forever studio, so I am trying to make our meeting room look as warm and inviting as possible without spending a ton of money on things that may not be functional in a few years.  My first waffle is about how best to position our curvy brown couch and chairs (the actual chairs in the pictures below will be replaced…just wait until my second waffle).

Do you like the couch against the wall with the chairs to the right of it?

The couch in the corner with the chairs on either side of it?

Or the couch in the corner with the chairs on either side of the tv?

Okay, now for waffle #2: the chairs. Bethany thinks the space-saving nature of armless chairs will be a good choice for the meeting room. Here are her options:

The Suzani & Gate Print Darby Chair from Cost Plus World Market

The Mosaic Logan Armless Chair, also by Cost Plus World Market

mosaic-logan-armless-chair

The Fionn Chair from Pier One

fionn-chair-pier-one

The Josette Chair, also from Pier One

josette-chair-pier-one

and the Sunflower Deco Accent Chair from Walmart

sunflower-deco-accent-chair

So, waffler readers, today is a two-fer. How should Bethany position her couch and chairs…and which chairs should she purchase?

Do you have an idea for a no-waffle, fantasy waffle or just a regular old waffle? Click here to find out more about waffles or on the button below to contact me and get started.

One response

  1. I like how the little bit of blue in the walmart chair picks up the blue wall in the studio….plus my guess is that you can’t beat a walmart price for temporary furniture!