Today’s Waffle: Gray Kitchens

Posted on
Grace-Kitchen-Raskin, university-village-grace's-kitchen, seattle-grace's-kitchen

Photo: Eater Seattle

Ken and I recently tried out a new neighborhood restaurant with the kids. Grace’s Kitchen is going for an urban-classic-homey vibe, or at least that’s my take on the decor.  The booths, trim and many of the walls are gray, which might seem an odd choice for Seattle, a city known for it’s overcast skies.

As I dug into my bowl of chili, I looked around at all the gray walls and started thinking about gray kitchens and whether I would want one in my own home. Of course, gray kitchens come in all different shades and styles.

There’s the traditional look:

gray-kitchen, classic-kitchen-gray

Traditional Home

The modern look:

modern-gray-kitchen

The Martha look:

marthakitchen, martha-stewart-kitchen, martha-stewart-gray-kitchen, gray-kitchen

Martha Stewart.com

There are kitchens with lots of gray cabinetry,

gray-kitchen, beautiful-gray-kitchen, great-windows-kitchen-gray

and kitchens with minimal cabinetry and gray walls:

gray-walls-kitchen, gray-yellow-kitchen

Apartment Therapy

Gray is used for tiled backsplashes,

kitchen-gray-penny-round-backsplash

Regan Baker Design

as well as for architectural features:

jillBrinsonDesignSponge, gray-kitchen, gray-arch-kitchen

Jill Brinson's Kitchen via Design Sponge

So what do you think? Does a gray kitchen strike you as chic and luxurious or drab and dreary?

Do you have an idea for a no-waffle, fantasy waffle or just a regular old waffle? Click here to find out more about waffles or on the button below to contact me and get started.

3 responses

  1. Gray kitchens can be lovely but, I live in the Pacific Northwest and even though it may look great at the restaurant, I don’t think I could live with it on a daily basis. I love the look of a yellow based white or ivory here. It lifts my spirits to see the cheerfulness it provides on our numerous gloomy days and when we have sunshine it isn’t too bright as a yellow might be.

  2. I always like the look of gray kitchens but I never thought to do one. I guess I will just stick with my white cabinets.