Today’s No-Waffle: Embroidery Hoops with Fabric in Tessa’s Room

Posted on

Tessa’s room used to look like this:
The mattress was on the floor, the walls were bare and there was no bedside table. It was a lackluster room.

In the fall I posted a bedframe waffle and you encouraged me to purchase Land of Nod’s Simple bed. Then I posted another waffle about where to position the bed and you helped me decide to put it across from the window instead of under it. land-of-nod-real-simple-bed The room was improving, but it needed some color. I posted a waffle about whether or not to cover this plain Jane Ikea bedside table in fabric and ribbons and readers voted with an enthusiastic “yes!” My friend, Sarah, and her mother did a lovely job.
ribbon bedskirt table, ribbon table skirt girls room

The walls were still screaming for attention. I posted yet another waffle, this time about whether I should try putting fabric on embroidery hoops and hanging them up around the room. Readers encouraged me to try it and I’m so glad I did. Here are the results:

fabric-hoops, fabric-hoops-art, fabric-embroidery-hoops, kids-room, kids-room-art, fabric-art, fabric-art-kids-room, lovely-art-kids-room, fabric-art-girls'-room

This is what you see when you first enter the room:

fabric-hoops, fabric-hoops-art, fabric-embroidery-hoops, kids-room, kids-room-art, fabric-art, fabric-art-kids-room, lovely-art-kids-room, fabric-art-girls'-room

I think the circles provide a nice balance to the straight lines of the bed frame.

fabric-hoops, fabric-hoops-art, fabric-embroidery-hoops, kids-room, kids-room-art, fabric-art, fabric-art-kids-room, lovely-art-kids-room, fabric-art-girls'-room

Tessa loves the new fabric art; when she saw the finished look she gave me a humongous hug.  Yes, it’s a very pastel, easter-eggy, girly-girl kind of room.  But you know what? Tessa thinks it’s the bee’s knees.  And anyway, deciding on the actual fabric, sizes of the different hoops, and where to place them on the wall was a total breeze. Yep, I completed the task without any waffling. And if you believe that I have a very nice bridge to sell you…

Do you have an idea for a no-waffle, fantasy waffle or just a regular old waffle? Click here to find out more about waffles or on the button below to contact me and get started.

11 responses

  1. So fun, Molly, love the fabric art! I agree with lowering them a tad, even if it’s just so Tessa can see (and enjoy) them more easily.

  2. Love the embroidery hoops with fabric! 🙂 So whimiscal feeling the way you placed them on the wall. I just saw this on Pinterest yesterday. 🙂 And it’s true, the only one who really matters on if they love the room or not is the one who the room is designed for! Very pretty!

  3. It looks fantastic and if Tessa loves it then your work is done 😉

  4. kellybernierdesigns

    Looks so great Molly! Very pretty. I love the way you brought in color with the circles. I am so happy for you that Tessa loves it . Very important!! 🙂

  5. Definitely a no-waffle there- brilliant!

  6. Looks great! What a difference a little color makes.

  7. Molly, it looks great. Still a tad high for my eyes, but great nonetheless.