Kelly’s Waffle: Painting the Inside of a Billy Bookcase

Posted on

Do you know Kelly from refresheddesigns? I’ve been reading her blog for a while now, and I’m always impressed by her spot-on styling, lovely pictures, and tips about how to create sustainable design.

Kelly is turning to us to help her resolve a waffle about a bookcase. A very stylish bookcase.

black-brown-billy-bookcase, ikea-billy-bookcase, wallpaper-bookcase, DIY-wallpaper-bookcase, wallpaper-on-billy-bookcase

Maybe you recognize it. It’s a black/brown Ikea Billy bookshelf, but Kelly added a wallpaper backing to it as you can see in this close-up:

wallpaper-bookcase, wallpaper-backing-bookcase, wallpaper-billy-bookcase, wallpaper-Ikea-bookcase

The bookcase is great as is, but Kelly is wondering if she can make it even better with some paint.  She explains:

I want to keep the bookcase black outside, as it balances some other black that I have in the room, namely the large flat-screen TV. However, I wonder if it would be more interesting to paint the inside of the cubbies an off-white and make the wallpaper backing stand out more. I’m not sure if the cream and black would be too much of a contrast though. I’d love some opinions.

wallpaper-bookcase, wallpaper-backing-bookcase, wallpaper-billy-bookcase, wallpaper-Ikea-bookcase

 

So what do you think? Should Kelly paint the inside of the cubbies off white — or leave them as is?

Would you like to be a guest waffler? I’d love to feature you on The Waffler and post a link to your blog, if you have one. Just click on the button below to get in touch.

If this is your first time to The Waffler, make yourself at home! There are lots of fun waffles to look at under the Categories section on the right sidebar; you can also subscribe to The Waffler via email, sign up to follow me via Facebook, Twitter, or RSS Feed, and of course follow my pins on Pinterest.

7 responses

  1. Hi, I’m so glad to find your blog. Now back to topic, this is a tough one. I love the current color but I think a creamy color from Farrow & Ball would look divine. Excited to see what Kelly decides to do.

  2. I would LOVE to see what this would look like with cream cubbies. Go for it!! The contrast would be divine. Besides, it’s just paint! 🙂

    Send follow up pics, won’t you?

  3. What a fun and interactive way to reach your readers, you’re brilliant! Thanks for stopping by our blog, we’re so happy to have found yours too!

    Whitney- The Rooster and The Hen

  4. Love the wallpaper on the back of the bookcase 🙂 I think the cubbies would look great painted, but I’d go with a colour other than off-white. I think a blue similar to the colour of the vase on the top of the bookcase, or like the blue vase in the top right cubby would look fantastic with the dark brown/black.

  5. Thanks for posting this waffle Molly! I’m interested to see what everyone thinks.