Today’s waffler wrap-up and recent poll results

Posted on

Do you like this West Elm Owl Table Lamp?  If so, maybe you were part of the 50% or voters who said they love the owl trend in decor.

Owl Table Lamp West Elm

27% of voters are ready for the owl trend to get the ax, while 23% could take it or leave it.

From owls we now move on to birds. A few weeks ago Suzy from Worthing Court appeared as a guest waffler.  Her problem? Art for her dining room. Suzy presented readers with three groups of bird art; the grouping below received 48% of the vote and was the clear winner with readers.

bird artbird artbird art

I caught up with Suzy recently and asked her what she plans to do. It seems like she’s taking a bit of a style turn:

Thank you, Molly, for helping me out with my Waffle and thank you to everyone who took time to vote and to leave suggestions for which art I should use it my dining room! It really helped to focus my direction. Believe it or not, my very first inclination was to go with modern art. Sooo…I think I’m going to take some more time looking around to see what I can find in the way of modern art. I’d love to find a book that I could pull pages out of to frame. Anyone have any suggestions?

And while we’re on the topic of dining rooms, remember my waffle about whether I should paint mine yellow?

dining room

59% of readers encouraged me to go for yellow, while 41% think I should hold off.

And what am I going to do? You know that song, Love the One You’re With? Well, I sort of changed my mind with each new reader comment. When Carol from The Design Pages talked about how everyone (even her mailman) loved her yellow dining room, I was sold. But then I got cold feet when Sarah warned me that painting a room yellow might make the room look too sunny in the summer.

My brain was getting whiplash.  But then I remembered those 18 x 18 inch sample sheets Benjamin Moore offers now.  So that’s my new plan: I’m going to get my butt over to Benjamin Moore and bring home some of those huge sheets so I can get a sense of what yellow might look like. You don’t need to ask — of course I’ll keep you updated!

yellow-retro-simple-green-white-beautiful-sunny-dining-room

I’m leaving you with one of the great images I found in my yellow dining room research. Have a great weekend!

What are you waffling about these days? Click on the button below to let me know.

5 responses

  1. When we moved into our house in Oakland most of the rooms were yellow (similar to the yellow in your photo above) with white trim and I have to say that I loved it. We had some southwest facing rooms and the light was fantastic! If it ever feels “too sunny” you can always pull the curtains but I think that you’ll really like the light in the dead of Seattle winter gloom. Also, you could start with just one wall and see how it feels to you.

  2. You got me with that last yellow image! Great way to end the week.

  3. I have always had a yellow room in each of our houses. In our first house, both the living room and dining room were a soft yellow. Loved! Then in our last house the dining room was a bright yellow. Loved it more. Then we down-sized to our 3000 square feet townhouse, and we had our guest bedroom painted the same yellow that was in our last dining room. It gets the morning sun, and I love how the yellow changes throughout the day. Sometimes it’s an “I need my sunglasses yellow”, and sometimes it’s a “I’m hungry for some creamy butter” yellow. Different walls in the room can look like different shades of yellow at the same time. Hey, I guess it is waffling!!!!! Anyway, don’t be afraid. It’s only paint.

    • Good point. It IS only paint. And if I tried the yellow then I would finally know and be able to stop waffling about it!