My waffle: art in the dining room

Posted on

Fun fact about me #34: I tend to jump the gun.  Case in point: last week when I posted a waffle about whether or not to paint my living room/dining room yellow, I casually mentioned that I wanted to replace the current chandelier in the dining room and purchase a larger piece of art.

dining room

But then I got to thinking…what if I hung two or three horizontal rows of pictures rather than just one large piece? After all, I’ve been admiring images like this:

Framed Art Gallery Wall, row of pictures, wildflower art, framed wildflowers, horizontal rows of art, art gallery wall

Craig Kettles Design

and this:

Framed Art Gallery Wall, row of pictures, wildflower art, framed wildflowers, horizontal rows of art, art gallery wall

Better Homes and Gardens

So this weekend I did some preliminary hanging. With placemats. And painter’s tape. This is how the back wall could look with two rows of pictures:

Dining room art gallery wall, figuring out art arrangement

Dining room art gallery wall, figuring out art arrangement

And this is how the dining room could look with one larger piece of art — the room could probably take an even larger piece:

Dining room art gallery wall, figuring out art arrangement

Dining room art gallery wall, figuring out art arrangement

So what do you think? Would two or three rows of art be distracting or a great focal point? Is one large piece a better way to go? Obviously, a big part of the decision depends on the artwork itself, but let’s say that I could find something great for either configuration.

PS — My waffle about whether or not to paint the dining room/living room yellow is still open! If you’d like to take a look and weigh in, just click here.

Do you have an idea for a no-waffle, fantasy waffle or just a regular old waffle? Click here to find out more about waffles or on the button below to contact me and get started.

11 responses

  1. You have a great vibe going on in your dining room – I love it! At first I thought I would vote for rows of multiple pictures, but then I saw the picture with what looks to be a built-in bookcase. I think it might be awfully busy to have multiple smaller pieces of art in the same space as a bookcase with multiple openings. Know what I mean? I would go one one large piece, but I think I’d make it much, much larger than than your mock-up! What a great focal point it would be.

  2. It looks like I’m in the minority here, I voted for one larger piece. With 6 slatted chairs and then 6 pieces, it’s a little too busy, and symmetrical, for me. That wall is really a focal point, and i would love to see a much larger piece, like starting below the table height in a square or rectangle that really anchors that end of the room.

    But, I think Heli’s point is great–look for both and then get what you really love.

  3. Option one is great, or a one piece picture/photo in the same size (your option for one piece is a bit small for me).
    And another small piece on the side wall?

  4. I really like the rows idea. You’ll have to find some things that are in a good theme, and very simple – I think both of your example pics work because the art is very light.

    Good luck!

  5. I think the smaller grouping looks great but depends on what you put in it.

  6. I think you should look for something you love as it will be a large part of your experience of the room. You can look for both the rows of smaller works or one big one, but the determining feature should be pure love, not forgetting cost of course.