Today’s no-waffle: yarn bombing

Posted on

My mother is visiting from Boston this week and as we were doing some sitesseeing in downtown Seattle, these bright bolts of color caught our eyes and made us gasp:

yarn bombing suzanne tidwell Seattle

And there were more of them:

yarn bombing suzanne tidwell Seattle

We just had to get out of the car and look up close.  The kids had a blast running around and exploring these tree sweaters.

yarn bombing suzanne tidwell Seattle

After doing some research when we got back home I discovered that this ‘knit graffiti’ is part of a national movement called Yarn Bombing, which is the activity of covering things in public places (lamposts, trees, statues, etc.) with knitted material. The trees above were knit bombed by local fiber artist Suzanne Tidwell.  Check out these pics that I found of other yarn bombed items:

closeupcrab pole yarn bombing

yarn bombing subway seat

I think my favorite are the trees, though. The bright burst of colors are just so happy and a wonderful balm against the gray winter sky.

yarn bombing tree

Have you seen any knit graffiti where you live? What do you think about it?

Do you have an idea for a no-waffle, fantasy waffle or just a regular old waffle? Click here to find out more about waffles or on the button below to contact me and get started.

10 responses

  1. I love it! I’m a rudimentary knitter at best but this is definitely the kind of project I’d want to be involved in. I’m going to have to show these to my more talented knitting friends!

  2. So, so happy! Google images for yarn bombed London phone booths.

  3. Love your photos! We have a fiber artist in Colorado Springs who has been decorating trees and fences here as well, and I love the unexpected surprise when discovering them around town. (And we recently moved here from Seattle, so your photos made me a bit nostalgic for our old town…)

  4. I love the yarn graffiti so much that I want to experiment with it in my old neighborhood 🙂

  5. Fun post. I am amazed on what’s out there. I’m going to show this to my daughter. She’s been working on a scarf for a few weeks now. I’m sure she’ll be inspired. Thanks Molly.

  6. Heard of this – but have never seen it – awesome – especially the last picture:)
    Have a great day,
    Axox

  7. OMG I love it! I have never seen this before and it is amazing! I may have to send this to some kids in my neighborhood and drop them off some yarn.

  8. Wow. Just wow. I can’t imagine the time that what into this. Truly art!