Real estate waffle: million dollar Seattle houses

Posted on

I’m a total real estate junkie, so researching this post was a lot of fun.  I decided to start this new “real estate waffling” series in my adopted city of Seattle, where many are willing to pay a premium for a water view.  If money and location didn’t factor into the decision, which one of these houses would you like to call home?

We start with a 3 bedroom, 1.75 bath house on Salmon Bay, currently listed for $1,075,000.

salmon bay house, seattle

And when I say Salmon Bay, I mean it’s on Salmon Bay.

salmon bay house, seattle

salmon bay house, seattle

It has a renovated kitchen,

salmon bay house, seattle

views from the master

salmon bay house, seattle

and lots of built-ins.

salmon bay house, seattle

From Salmon Bay, we move to a 3 bedroom, 3.25 bath house in Portage Bay, listed at $1,150,000. This colonial style house is considerably larger, but does not offer the same water access.

portage bay house seattle

The views are still pretty great, though.
portage bay house seattle

portage bay house seattle

This house has a lovely fireplace and period charm,

portage bay house seattle

portage bay seattle house
lots of large windows,
portage bay house seattle

and a big master bathroom.

portage bay house seattle

Last up is a 3 bedroom, 3.5 bath modern house in West Seattle going for $1,099,000.

West Seattle house with view

Again we have some killer views,

West Seattle house with view

West Seattle house with view

an open kitchen,

West Seattle house with view

modern master bathroom,

West Seattle house with view

and plenty of living space.

West Seattle house with view

West Seattle house with view

So what are your thoughts? Would you choose the house with water access, period charm, or a modern aesthetic?

Would you like me to check out the real estate in your neck of the woods, or would you prefer a real estate waffle from a different locale? Let me know by clicking on the button below.

PS — I didn’t get payed or perked for this waffle; I just enjoy the virtual house hunt.

7 responses

  1. Molly, as a girl I kept a scrapbook of clippings from the real estate advertised in the Sunday Times Magazine section. This waffle was so up my alley. It would be such a hard decision because for any of them I would need all new furniture and god knows that would be a process in and of itself…

  2. Oooh, I love real estate, so this is fun! I definitely preferred the modern aesthetic and view combo of #3. However, since I live in Seattle, I probably wouldn’t actually move in, given that West Seattle is too far for me. But I love the idea. Fun!

  3. 3, 1, 2 Lovely selection of homes.

  4. Nice waffle to consider! Love west coast architecture. I’m coming to Seattle for the first time next week and looking forward to seeing some! Anything you suggest as a must-see? I am downtown for a conference and have a bit of touring time. Will obviously go to the market and waterfront, but looking for other suggestions.

    • The weather has been gorgeous here lately so I hope it holds up for you. Seattle has some amazing Bungalows and Arts and Crafts architecture tucked away in some great neighborhoods — check out Wallingford, Fremont and Ravenna. Here’s a resource for architecture tours that might help: http://seattlearchitecture.org/tours_month.html#february Enjoy your stay! Oh, and if you have a hankering for girl scout mint or lavender flavored ice cream you must take a trip to Molly Moon’s.

  5. This was a tough one Molly! I really liked all the windows and built ins of the first one and the open concept and natural light of the third house but, while I appreciate a good view, I think a yard is pretty important for families with young kids so I opted for the second one. Plus, that master bathroom is gorgeous!

  6. #3, #1, #2 in rank order. Definitely more interesting housing stock for $1M than you find in Boston!