My waffle: West Elm counter stools

Posted on

Okay, this is probably going to sound childish, but I’m really mad at our kitchen counter stools.

kitchen counter stools

These counter stools were one of the first items I bought when we moved into our current house three years ago. After waffling endlessly, I gave up and bought these for $40 on Craigslist. So why am I holding a grudge against an inanimate object? Well just look at how that circular metal piece is gouging out the wood in the counter post.

counter stool gouged wood

I’ve tried fixing the holes with wood filler and every kind of stain touch-up pens Home Depot offers, but no luck. Every few weeks holes show up again — what can I say, my kids are wigglers and the stools just seem to get banged into the wood every time they sit on them.

Now you might think that once I bought these stools I moved on to bigger and better waffles. While that’s partly true, I’ve been keeping a look out for attractive, not-going-to-break-the-bank replacement stools. I think I might have found them in these West Elm Klismos stools.

West Elm Klismos bar stools, brown barstools, chocolate barstools, pretty barstools, simple barstools, classic barstools, wood barstools, west elm bar stools

I love how simple and unfussy they are, while the arch still gives them some visual interest. And while there’s still a circular piece at the base, I’m hoping that because the piece itself is flat it won’t cause the same kind of gouging as our metal, tube-like stools do.  A single or straight leg might work even better, but boy do I like the look of these stools.

West Elm Klismos bar stools, brown barstools, chocolate barstools, pretty barstools, simple barstools, classic barstools, wood barstools, west elm bar stools, west elm klismos stools

The Klismos come in white and red, but white seems ridiculous with kids (plus food) and I’m just not feeling the red.  I don’t mind the chocolate color — but would that be too much brown in the kitchen? Or maybe I could lacquer them in a happy color…

What do you think?

What are you waffling about these days? Whether it’s stools are skirts, click on the button below to send me a waffle and get help.

4 responses

  1. Buy the West Elm stools, and keep them regardless…the counter post is already gouged! The arch in those stools is great….and I like the brown…not sure I see the need for color in that area of the kitchen. Without seeing the whole room, it’s hard to tell what color would do for you…in fact, I almost find the blue cushions on the current stools distracting.

  2. you need a color! But, unfortunately red is not quite right. Maybe something with an upholstered seat so that the fabric is what touches the bar?

  3. I like the white. you can DYI upholster the top in a happy color.