My neighbor’s waffle: new trench coat

Posted on

When buying an article of clothing in a bright shade, how do you determine the line between a fun color and a fun-house color?  My Wonderful Neighbor (WN) has finally found a trench coat that fits her well, but she’s not sure if she can handle the color it comes in.

Pink Trench Banana Republic, colorful coat, pink coat, pink jacket, trench coat, should I buy a pink trench coat, best trench coat colors

WN explains:

I’ve always wanted a trenchcoat but have never been able to find one petite enough. Usually the huge lapels and flaps overwhelm my small frame.  Now Banana Republic has 2 styles in their petite collection that actually do look, dare I say, good on me.  The Pink Trench in particular fits me really well and looks simple and smart but (it’s a big but) it’s bright pink.  The color is just not me at all – I feel as though I look like I’ve raided my four-year-old’s closet.  I love the style and it fits great but I’m not sure I can live with the color.

classic trench banana republic, trench coat, khaki coat, khaki trench coat, petite trench coat

WN has come up with a second option: the Classic Trench.

The fit and proportions of this coat are okay on me, but it’s longer and seems like a heavier look (less ‘spring’) than the pink trench. Maybe a bit staid looking.  I wouldn’t hesitate over the color but don’t love the look of it.

WN is wondering if she should get one of the above coats or wait – and hope they bring out a more muted version of the pink one.

What have you been waffling about lately? Whether it’s a coat or curtains, click on the button below to send a waffle and get help.

2 responses

  1. A trench coat is a staple that, once you find one you love, you will wear over and over again forever. It’s worth it to wait for the right one. I worry that the pink one (while I love its boldness) will look dated later and potentially fashion-chasing now.

  2. I adore the pink coat but I know from lots of my own experiences that if you don’t love it you won’t wear it and if you do, you won’t feel fantastic in it:(