Waffler wrap-up and recent poll results

Posted on

Remember my nook dilemma? Ken gave me the Nook for Christmas and I wasn’t sure if I should return it or not.  Most readers were pro e-reader: 65% voted for me to keep it while 35% said return.

Barnes and Nobles Nook, Nook, Nook propped up, pros and cons of Nook, what I like about the Nook

And my decision? I’m keeping it.  I finally opened it last week and ordered my first book: State of Wonder by Ann Patchett (which is great, by the way).  Here are my initial thoughts about the Nook:

PROS:

1.  Travel: Like many of your comments indicated, it’s going to be great for travel — light, compact, easy to download a ton of book in advance.

2.  Screen: The screen is easy to read and not at all annoying.

3.  Prop-ability: See the picture above?  I’ve been propping the Nook up on that large blue platter and reading a bit when I have a spare minute when I’m in the kitchen. (I promise I didn’t stage this picture — I usually have an actual book there).

CONS:

1.  Page turning: I don’t mind reading from this screen, but I do mind pushing the button on the screen to turn the page.  The screen goes blank and you have to wait for the new page to appear. Not a big deal, but it really breaks the flow of reading.

2.  Chapter confusion: This might seem a bit minor, but I find it frustrating not knowing when the chapter that I’m in the middle of is going to end.  I guess I could scroll ahead to find out, but it’s not the same as when you’re reading an actual book.

All in all, I’ve been pleasantly surprised by the Nook. Great present, honey!

In table skirt news, I’m still planning on making a table skirt for this table in Tessa’s room.

The fabrics most popular with readers were Daisies in Spring and Sweet Organic Stripes.

fabric, fabric for table skirt, fabric to go with ribbons, fabric for girl's room, fabric for kid's room, choosing fabric, fabric dilemma, great fabric, fun fabric, cute fabric

Daisies in Spring

fabric, fabric for table skirt, fabric to go with ribbons, fabric for girl's room, fabric for kid's room, choosing fabric, fabric dilemma, great fabric, fun fabric, cute fabric

Sweet Organic Stripe

I showed Tessa the pictures of these two fabrics (it is her room after all) but she was having none of it.  “Pink,” she declared.  Shocking, I know.  I was really pushing for the Sweet Organic Stripe, but she was adamant.  Oh well, a solid fabric means we can go a little more crazy with the ribbons — so many great choices:

ribbon for table skirt, ribbon, ribbon for DIY project, ribbon for girl's room

When I posted this waffle about black and white striped rugs 61% of readers said they loved this trend, while 33% said they could take it or leave it.  Personally, I’m a fan, but that may be because the Olin rug is working out so well in my laundry room. But black and white painted stripes all over a small room? Not so much.

black and white striped bathroom, Lonny Mag, black and white painted stripes, bold bathroom

Have a great weekend!

Comments are closed.