Holiday’s waffle: new rug for living room

Posted on

I love Holiday’s blog Holiday House Rules, so I was thrilled when she sent me this waffle.  Like many of us, Holiday is having a rug dilemma.  More specifically, it’s about whether or not to keep this Bull’s Eye Rug from West Elm:

West Elm bull's eye rug, design dilemma, rug dilemma, should I keep this rug, living room decor, living room rug, decorating living room rug, modern rug, is this rug too modern

Holiday explains her hesitation:

I recently had my living room chairs re-upholstered. The “living room” is kind of the hub of all the rooms on the first floor; you pass through it to get to all the other spaces. In the past we have treated it more like a hallway. Now I’m trying to decide if I should keep this new rug — or is it too modern for my house and other decor?

West Elm bull's eye rug, design dilemma, rug dilemma, should I keep this rug, living room decor, living room rug, decorating living room rug, modern rug, is this rug too modern

West Elm bull's eye rug, design dilemma, rug dilemma, should I keep this rug, living room decor, living room rug, decorating living room rug, modern rug, is this rug too modern

If Holiday returned the rug she could replace it with one that feels much safer to her — the smaller, dark brown rug which was previously in this space:

West Elm bull's eye rug, design dilemma, rug dilemma, should I keep this rug, living room decor, living room rug, decorating living room rug, modern rug, is this rug too modern

So what do you think? Is the rug too modern or is it spot on?

5 responses

  1. Love the rug. It makes my brain feel happy.

  2. I think this rug looks great! Since the rest of the room is pretty neutral, I don’t think it overwhelms the room. It’s a little hard to tell whether or not the rug is too modern for the rest of the house, but it doesn’t seem so. In any case, she should definitely use a rug of this size. It makes the room into an actual room, instead of a hallway.

  3. I love this rug! When I first saw the picture I thought you were doing a rug edition of your No Waffle series. It would appear from the pictures that the red colour in the contested rug matches nicely with the red rug in the adjoining room so I wouldn’t worry about it not fitting in with the rest of the decor. I also really don’t like the small rug… it seems way too tiny for such a big space.

  4. I like the size and the colors in the West Elm rug, but not the design. I think it fits in a playroom, kids room, or any not-so-seriuos space.