Today’s waffle: black and white striped rugs

Posted on

You know when you buy a red car, you suddenly start noticing all of those other red cars out there?  Okay, I don’t actually own a red car, but my point is this:  I recently purchased the Olin black and white runner rug for my laundry room and now I’m realizing how trendy black and white rugs have become.

Black and white olin rug, olin rug crate and barrel, black and white rugs, decorating with black and white rugs, interior design black and white rugs

Striped rugs have been around forever, but if I had to put money on it, I would say the current black and white striped rug obsession took off with this picture of  Nate Berkus’ living room in Elle Decor.  Nate’s Madeline Weinrib rug is predictably pricy but Ikea has its own more reasonably priced version of it.

Nate Berkus Living Room Elle Decor, Madeline Weinrib buche rug, black and white rugs, black and white striped rugs, lovely living rooms, celebrity living rooms, living rooms with black and white rugs, beautiful black and white rugs

Black and white striped rugs have also been appearing in halls and entryways

Black and white rug, entryway, black and white rug in entryway, pretty entryway, pretty mudroom, black and white entryway, black and white stair runner

in living rooms

black and white rug, black and white rug in living room, beautiful living room, beautiful living room with black and white striped rug, large striped black and white rug, black and white living room

black and white rug, black and white rug in living room, beautiful living room, beautiful living room with black and white striped rug, striped black and white rug, black, blue and white living room

bedrooms

Black and white rug in bedroom, black and white striped rug twin beds, black and white striped rug blue walls, beautiful bedroom, beautiful twin beds in bedroom, decorating with black white red, red headboards, red twin headboards, two twin beds in bedroom

and dining rooms.

Black and white striped rug in dining room, lovely black and white dining room, decorating dining room with black and white, black chandelier in dining room, white chairs circular table,

So what do you think of black and white striped rugs? Bold and fun or cold and stark? Or does it depend on the room and accessories?

One response

  1. Ha, yeah I totally know what you mean (unfortunately)…I love the black and white rug trend and for some reason I always wanted one in my laundry room (it totally wouldn’t match). I think I saw it somewhere and now it’s imprinted on my brain! I love the third picture down because that’s a Pottery Barn entryway set and it looks like they made their own cushion cover. Oh how I shake my fist at people who can sew (just kidding)! The choices PB has are so blah (and $79!) and certainly wouldn’t coordinate with my “fantasy” laundry room rug! 🙂