My waffle: keep or return the nook

Posted on

Ken got me a Nook for Christmas.  Before handing it to me he said, “This is something you’ll probably hate at first, but I bet you’ll love it in 6 months.”   I usually don’t like being told what I’m going to feel about something, but in this case he was right: I hated it.  Or as I teach my kids to say, I strongly disliked it.

nook-ebooks-ereader, nook, ereader, ebook, books vs. nook, book vs. ereader, pros and cons of ereader, pros and cons of nook, Barnes and Nobles nook

See, I love the feel of books — their weight, the feel of pages, the cover design — and nothing beats the anticipation of searching for a good book in a bookstore. And that’s the other thing: I want to support my local independent bookstores.

Ken points out that we can still do that. There are always books to buy for the kids and for presents. He also reminds me that we are running out of bookshelf space in our house. Plus, the Nook is convenient for travel and you can highlight text, which might aid my forgetful mind when it comes time for book club.

So what about you?  Do you have an e-reader or are you partial to actual book books? Is it easy to get used to reading books on a screen or should I not even attempt it? I’d love your advice!

Did you receive any presents this year that you’re on the fence about returning? Whatever you are waffling about these days, click on the button below to send me a waffle and get help.

10 responses

  1. I do understand where you’re coming from — I also like the feel of books! I like writing on them and highlighting parts that I like. However, an e-book reader (I own a Kindle!) has proven useful for the most part. It’s so compact and light so I save a lot of bag space when I want to lug around a couple of books with me. Also, it carries a lot of features that I really like: a dictionary, Internet connection, etcetera. So please keep the Nook! Better to have options 🙂

  2. I’m like you with the feel of books. And I own a bookstore, so I’m all for supporting small businesses. HOWEVER, I also travel a lot. It is 100 times more convenient to bring 1 Nook than to lug 5 novels with me. I only use my Nook when I’m traveling, and I read real books the rest of the time.

  3. I don’t own an e-reader in any form but my cousin swears by her Nook and both my mother and brother have become Kindle converts. My cousin has sworn off paper all together but my mother/brother use it as a supplement to their books and book buying. There are a ton of free books available (mostly the classics that are no longer bound by copyright) and many libraries are getting in on the act and you can borrow e-books. I think that Amazon now allows you to “lend” books via Kindle too. I think that the learning/comfort curve may be steep but that it’s a very nice addition to your reading habits. Keeper/trade for Kindle.

  4. I have a kindle and I LOVE it! It makes traveling so much easier!!

  5. Return it and get the kindle fire! Kindle plus web browsing and nice screen for magazines. It won’t replace your real books, but more useful than the nook.

  6. I don’t have one but I think your husband is probably right that you’ll love it even if for nothing other than travelling. My hubby bought me diamond earrings that I made him take back. What can I say? I’m a practical girl and ALL that money on earrings is not my thing.

  7. Return the Nook, buy an iPad! Not that much more expensive, and so much more useful. Also, there’s a real chance B&N will go out of business, and then you’ll be stuck.

    If it helps, I have actually bought way more e-books since I started reading them on my iPhone/iPad without decreasing (by much) the number of “real” books I’ve bought. And I browse my local bookstores just as much.

  8. I have had a Kindle for years. I did hate it at first, and very slowly warmed up to it. Now I love it and can’t live without it (sounds dramatic, but true). Traveling is a breeze, it holds like 2000+ texts, you can try samples before you actually buy, it’s light and easy to hold onto–books feel cumbersome now. I don’t use a ton of the features like highlighting, but looking up words I don’t know is easy and i don’t have to leave the page. Also: my kids like the fact that they can change the font size to whatever their comfort level is (early readers like big text, so do advanced age readers :-)). Of course, this means you are sharing it, which is a whole other issue.

    There are still a couple of things I don’t love, like not knowing what page you’re on, and you can’t just flip to a dog-eared page for book discussions.

    I voted to return it, only so you could get the Kindle :). Their special ink-filled screens are very easy on the eyes, so it’s not like reading a regular device. It feels just like reading a book.

  9. I would also keep it for travel. I don’t have one, but I could see how it would be convenient.

    On the other hand, you can return it and tell Ken to buy you another bookshelf. 🙂

  10. I can see how they could be great for certain times– travel when you can load a bunch of books and just carry one thing, dark places where you wouldn’t then need a light, but the idea of having to TURN SOMETHING ON just to read a book seems dreadful to me, and like you, I love the FEEL of books. ALso yay for supporting independent bookstores. So maybe keep it for travel and sometimes use, but keep real books as the go-to option. And buy a highlighter!