Today’s no-waffle: delicious New Year’s eve dinner

Posted on

I snapped this photo last New Year’s Eve (way before I started blogging) just because the food was so yummy I needed to document it. You see I’m not a very adventurous cook (my friends and family are rolling their eyes and muttering, “that’s an understatement”) but every year we have some neighbors over for New Year’s and I wanted to make something impressive. Enter Beef Wellington and green beans with almonds and bacon.

Beef Wellington green beans with bacon new years meal, great new years meal, beef wellington, delicious beef wellington, delicious new year's meal, cooking with bacon, yummy green beans with bacon

Beef Wellington sounds fancy but it’s actually not all that difficult. One of my neighbors requested I make it again this year and I’m happy to oblige. I don’t remember the actual recipe I used, but this one from Simply Recipes looks delicious.

Now for the green beans with sliced almonds and bacon. Bacon. Need I say more? Here’s my recipe:

1 ½ pounds green beans, ends trimmed

¼ cup slivered almonds

½ pound bacon

Salt and pepper

Par boil the green beans for 3 minutes. Drain and rinse the green beans under cold water to stop the cooking.  In a frying pan fry the bacon until brown.  Remove the bacon to a plate covered with paper towels to drain. Break bacon up into 1/4″ pieces. Add the green beans to the frying pan and sauté for about 5 minutes over medium heat or until crisp tender.  Remove the frying pan from the heat and add the chopped bacon, slivered almonds, and salt and pepper to taste.

Serves 6.

Have you started thinking about what you will be serving on New Year’s Eve? If so, let us know what it is!

Comments are closed.