waffler wrap-up and poll results

Posted on

Okay, here’s the plan: I get myself appointed grand poobah in charge of naming paint colors and make some radical changes.  That’s right, no more of these vague, romantic names for paints like “candelit dinner” or “sweet bluette.”  Nope, I’m going to tell it like it is. Instead of Hawthorne Yellow, this bright yellow will now be called Husband Makes a Face and Says Ick.  Instead of Blue Wythe, this greeny blue will now be called Looks Great in Other People’s Houses But Not in My Laundry Room.

Benjamin Moore Bright and Early, Benjamin Moore Hawthorne Blue, Benjamin MOore Covington Blue, Shemin Williliams Full Moon, painting laundry room, painting small room, Olin Rug Crate and Barrel, runner rug in laundry room, rug in laundry room

Okay, you’re right, I need to chill the heck out.  And the good news is that I have narrowed down my paint choices (yes, again).  The front running yellow is Benjamin Moore’s Moonlight.

Benjamin Moore™ 2020-60 Moonlight, yellow benjamin moore, soft yellow paint color, laundry room color, top selling laundry room paint color, decorating with yellow, yellow rooms, paint dilemma

My top choice for blue is a shade I used in the master bedroom of our former house in Boston: Jet Stream, also a Benjamin Moore color.  It’s an oldie, but goodie.

Jet Stream Benjamin Moore, blue paint color, blue paint for laundry room, soft pretty blue paint color, choosing a good blue paint color, soft blue paint color, blue for the laundry room, Benjamin Moore blue

I plan on doing some more test swatches over the holidays and then with any hope I will be able to take a good “after” photo of the laundry room.  Cross your fingers for me.

Remember Jill’s Hunter Wellies waffle?  She recently wrote in with an update:

Guess what?! I decided to return both pair of Hunter Wellies!  I decided that wearing them with the liners was too cumbersome, and I instead opted for the more practical, extremely warm, Sorel Joan of Arctic insulated, waterproof boots.  They are a bit clunky, but they are really really warm, and I am quite happy with my decision.  Since I already have a pair of more fashionable warm boots in the form of a La Canadienne suede wedge, I thought I’d go über-practical for the dog walks and sledding outings that await us this winter!

Joan of Arctic boots, insulated books, stylish warm boots, winter boots

In Pinterest news, I was happy to see that 60% of voters love this website and 20% are going to try it out.  And why not? Gorgeous pictures and a great way to organize fashion, decorating, and recipe ideas.   I’ll sign off with two of my latest pins: the first went onto my Love without Question board and the second onto Mudroom Envy.  Have a great weekend!
sunset magazine kitchen, beautiful kitchen, blue subway tile, blue subway tile in kitchen, white and blue kitchen, lovely blue and white kitchen
mudroom, wallpaper in mudroom, beautiful mudroom, lovely bench in mudroom, pretty mudroom

Got a waffle? Whether it’s about fashion, jewelry, footwear or furniture, click on the button below to contact me and get some help.

One response

  1. Nice laundry room. I like the blue. Whatever you decide, it will be okay. It’s only paint. Try a stencil. I used the Cutting Edge Stencils in a small powder room and loved the result. Happy decorating!