My waffle: mirror or print over the mantel?

Posted on

A few months ago I posted a waffle about what to put over the mantel in our living room. I’d love to find a wonderful piece of art, but so far I haven’t found anything I love (or at least love enough to shell out the big bucks for). Out of all the options I offered, readers liked this display of items I found around my house:

mantel display, mantel arrangement, dried starfish, furniture dilemma

Recently, a friend asked if I would like to try a piece of art that she is not currently using. It’s a lithograph by Anne Dykmans, and it reminded her of my “quasi-beachy” living room:

art over mantel, art over fireplace, choosing art for over mantel, black and white art over mantel

I think I need to rehang the picture a few inches higher. I can also swap out the green vase and starfish for other items — these were just on hand.

art over mantel, art over fireplace, choosing art for over mantel, black and white art over mantel, anne dykmans
Here’s the mirror, picture, vase combination. I could hang the mirror and paint it a fun color.

mantel display, mirror over mantel, pictures over mantel, decorating mantelpiece, decorating mantel

Until I find a great piece of art, these are both good options. Which do you think works best?

What have you been waffling about lately? Whether it’s boots or baby bumpers, click on the button below to send a waffle and get help.

3 responses

  1. I love the lithograph with the starfish. Beautiful!

  2. They are both too small to live alone there. You need more stuff! Try both, hanging the mirror and perhaps leaning the litho against the wall/mirror. If you do go with the print, you need more chunky accessories to the sides!