Today’s waffle: blues vs. yellows

Posted on

You’ve heard of the playoffs, well today I’m doing a paint-off to determine the best color to transform my dull laundry room into a more cheerful space.

Laundry room, decorating a laundry room,

Last week you helped me narrow down my list of bluesWythe Blue is currently leading in the polls — but many of you suggested I consider yellow, a notoriously tricky color.  So I selected a darker gray/blue and a lighter blue, a darker yellow and a light one.

First up, we have Yarmouth Blue.  A Benjamin Moore employee suggested this color when I (sadly) realized that Wythe Blue was going to be too dark. Next is Bright and Early, a bright blue which I had left over from painting my son, Will’s, room. Then there are the yellows: Benjamin Moore’s Hawthorne Yellow, supposedly the be-all and end-all of yellows, and Sherwin Williams’ Full Moon, a much paler shade.

Ken and I like the idea of eventually replacing the high shelf with bright white cabinets. This is on a future to-do list, though, so the shelf will be staying for the immediate future.

What do you think? I shot these pictures on a relatively sunny day.

Benjamin Moore Bright and Early, Benjamin Moore Hawthorne Blue, Benjamin MOore Yarmouth Blue, Shemin Williliams Full Moon, painting laundry room, painting small room

Wall to the left of the window

This area under the shelf probably gets the least light.

Benjamin Moore Bright and Early, Benjamin Moore Hawthorne Blue, Benjamin MOore Yarmouth Blue, Shemin Williliams Full Moon, painting laundry room, painting small room

The wall to the right of the window is often in half-shadow:

Benjamin Moore Bright and Early, Benjamin Moore Hawthorne Blue, Benjamin MOore Yarmouth Blue, Shemin Williliams Full Moon, painting laundry room, painting small room

Wall across from the washing machine and dryer

I also purchased the Olin Rug from Crate and Barrel. I wanted to see what the room would look like with some bold colors on the floor. Of course I’m not sure if I will keep it or not…

Benjamin Moore Bright and Early, Benjamin Moore Hawthorne Blue, Benjamin MOore Yarmouth Blue, Shemin Williliams Full Moon, painting laundry room, painting small room, Olin Rug Crate and Barrel, runner rug in laundry room, rug in laundry room

So which paint color should we crown champion of the paint-off?  Or if none of these specific colors do it for you, are you leaning toward the yellow or blue team?

Do you need help choosing a paint color, too? Whatever you are waffling about, click on the button below to send a waffle and get help.

6 responses

  1. It’s difficult to tell, but the otherwise lovely Yarmouth Blue looks grayish in some photos, and that would be a depressing room. Have you looked at Corinthian Blue by Benjamin Moore? It’s a blue with a more yellow base, rather than gray. I voted Bright and Early only becasue the yellows did not seem quite right and the Yarmouth/Gray problem. But I don’t think any of these are perfect yet.

  2. I really like the Yarmouth Blue, but if you wanted to go with yellow, I agree with Jessie. Something a little less intense than the Hawthorne would be perfect to me.

  3. I’m a yellow girl although blue is a close second but when I saw the rug it was a done deal…yellow, black and white is heaven for me!

    • Glad you like the rug — I’m leaning towards keeping it. Getting the right yellow might be tricky — maybe one shade darker than Full Moon?

  4. If these are the only choices I would go with the hawthorne, but actually think that something it lighter than that, yet a bit brighter than the full moon, would be best. The Full moon looks a bit dull, and you need something sunny and happy! But really, it is difficult to tell online.