Today’s no-waffle: DIY christmas stockings

Posted on

Is it just me, or does anyone else dislike the phrase ‘Holiday Season’? I know it’s meant to sound all-inclusive, but it’s so bland and corporate sounding.  Perhaps we should try to come up with a better alternative. How about ‘The-time-of-year-when-we-must-find-presents-our-kids-want-but-won’t-be-too-noisy-or-annoying-or-expensive?’ Too long?  Okay, how about ‘The-season-of-gaining-weight-from-cookies’?

christmas stocking, DIY christmas stocking, DIY stocking, felt stocking, DIY with felt, felt crafts, felt stocking craft

Tessa helped hang the stockings last December. Yes, December. The girl runs warm.

Do I sound like a Scrooge?  I actually do enjoy the HS.  In particular, I love hanging the felt stockings my mom made for each member of the family.  There’s just something great about using a stocking that someone you love took the time to make.

christmas stocking, DIY christmas stocking, DIY stocking, felt stocking, DIY with felt, felt crafts, felt stocking craft

Tessa and my nieces Lucy and Anna's stockings hung in front of my parents' fireplace.

Here are the (super easy) instructions, courtesy of mom:

1. Cut two pieces of felt into exactly the same sized stocking shape.

2. Cut out names and decorations you want to use and sew them on to the top piece of the stocking. Make sure to do this before sewing the two stockings together.

3. Sew the two stockings together using an easy running stitch or a blanket stitch.

4. Make a loop on top for hanging.

And have a merry ‘I-love-my-kids-but-two-weeks-of-vacation-is-really-quite-enough’ day!

Do you have a no-waffle or a regular waffle to share?  I’d love to hear about it.  Just click on the button below to get in touch.

5 responses

  1. Love stockings. Ours are on our counsel table in the entry due to two problems: 1) our fireplace runs HOT and there are no hooks and2) I’m too chicken to drill into the wood mantle.

    “This girl runs warm” oohhhhh yah, I get that. our boys refuse to wear coats. What is with all the Seattle-ites and shorts and T-shirts in mid-December. As a MN native, I have no sense of this. I love down jackets…even inside.

    So glad to have found you here!

  2. It is a really nice tradition. I think I might have to do some this year. Funny, my daughter is the same as yours. She’s always dressed like it’s summer!

  3. My grandmother made felt stockings for everyone, and now my sister makes them for each new member of the family. I would have a hard time with store bought ones.