Waffler wrap-up: poll results

Posted on

Today The Waffler is officially 6 weeks old.  Blogging is a lot more work than I anticipated but it’s also a lot more fun, in large part due to your kind words, encouragement, and great design and fashion advice — thank you! Also, a big thank you to those who have sent in waffles.  If you are waffling about something (or know someone who is) please don’t be shy about contacting me.  I’m neurotic, but fairly nice.

Okay.  Down to business.  With 55% of the vote, Land of Nod’s Simple Bed was the clear winner in Tessa’s  big girl bed waffle.  I love this option,  so I was quite happy with the results.

land of nod simple bed, girl's bed, children's bed, well made bed, well made wood bed, white painted wood child's bed, headboard without footboard, wooden slats headboard

And then Monica over at idazzle and Holiday from holidayhouserules suggested an upholstered headboard.  Soft to lean up against, a great way to bring in interesting fabric, an upholstered or slipcovered headboard is a great idea.  I just wish I had thought of it first…especially seeing as how after years of waffling I bought one for my own bedroom. Hello, Molly? You’re a big dork.

Pottery Barn Essential Cozy throw, Throw, Pottery Barn Headboard, Slipcovered headboard, Porcelain blue, throw

The slipcovered headboard in our master

So it’s down to the Simple Bed or an upholstered or slipcovered headboard.  I’ll keep you posted.

And now on to car-waffling.  Remember how Chessie and Robert were looking for a good car-with-a-third-row alternative to a mini-van?  There was no clear winner in this waffle; results were pretty evenly divided between the Toyota, Mazda, Volvo and Acura.  I checked in with Chessie and here’s what she said:

We are holding off at least till spring, but we are going to test drive the Acura over Thanksgiving. We lean toward the look of the Volvo, but the agility of the Mazda, so maybe the Acura is a good combo of those two.  For now though we are sticking with the Subaru and trying to convince ourselves not to get a minivan (however futile that may end up being).

Good luck, Chessie and Robert!

When asked about favorite laundry rooms, readers preferred  rooms with a cottage and modern vibe, but the “huge” laundry room garnered the most votes.  Interestingly, the research I did for this post indicates that laundry rooms might soon become a thing of the past.  Take a look at this conceptual washing machine: it doesn’t require water or detergent and it doubles as a seat!  Now there’s a conversation starter for your living room.

 conceptual washing machine, cool washing machine, futuristic washing machine, washing machine as seat

If you want to see  more futuristic washing machines, check out this list from EcoFriend.  I think the Swirlis particularly cool.

Have a great weekend!

4 responses

  1. Wow, I had no idea you were such a brand new blogger. You look so polished already!! I am just about to make an upholstered headboard for my daugther. I love the softness for little girls. Our non mini van alternative was a Honda Pilot. It’s 4 door, 8 seater that feels more like a car because it’s a little narrower than most SUVs. I love it.

    • Thanks Carol — I’m really enjoying your blog, too. I’m excited to see how your headboard turns out and what fabric you choose — there are so many great ones out there.

  2. Happy six week anniversary!
    And thanks to wafflers for the car advice. We’ll continue to keep everyone posted.