Today’s waffle: Where to put Tessa’s bed

Posted on

The title of this post might be misleading.  I haven’t actually purchased a bed for Tessa yet, but your feedback on the different bed options helped me narrow it down to  two contenders: Land of Nod’s Simple Bed or an upholstered or slipcovered headboard.  Lots of you had opinions about where to place the bed, so I thought I would show you how it looked in different places.

As you look at the following pictures, please imagine that the mattress is on an actual bed frame so things don’t look quite so schlumpy.  Also imagine that there is more art on the walls.  Also imagine that I got to eat some dark chocolate after lugging Tessa’s furniture around.

Option 1 is where the bed is currently, diagonally across from the door. I like this position, but I wonder if the headboard will look funny sticking up past the window ledge.

Girl's room, purple and green girls room, pottery barn kid chenille drapes, design dilemma, decorating a girl's room, furniture

Girl's room, purple and green girls room, pottery barn kid chenille drapes, design dilemma, decorating a girl's room, furniture

Option 2 would still be diagonally across from the door, but turned to the left. I worry that the curtain would look a little strange visually cut off by the bed.

Girl's room, purple and green girls room, pottery barn kid chenille drapes, design dilemma, decorating a girl's room, furniture

Girl's room, purple and green girls room, pottery barn kid chenille drapes, design dilemma, decorating a girl's room, furniture

Option 3 is across from the window. The bookcase could be moved to where the chair is; the chair will be Craigslisted eventually.

Girl's room, purple and green girls room, pottery barn kid chenille drapes, design dilemma, decorating a girl's room, furniture, kid's room, purple and green kids room

Girl's room, purple and green girls room, pottery barn kid chenille drapes, design dilemma, decorating a girl's room, furniture, kid's room, purple and green kids room

Option 4 is also across from the window. The end of the bed is only a few feet from the doorway.

Tessa’s room is still very much in the “before” category. A proper bed frame will help it on the road to becoming an “after” — but where should it go?

What are you waffling about these days? Whatever it is, click on the button to contact me and get help.

12 responses

  1. So glad I found your blog just now! I voted for 3, but wanted to comment (along with others) that I would pull the bed away from the wall and put some furniture on the other side. Upholstered would be fantastic, but they are expensive if you’re not comfortable with DIY. Look forward to seeing your choices!

  2. Thanks for visiting me the other day! I love Instagram; you should try it! I like my bed to face the window, so I would go with Option 3. Alternatively, maybe you could put the bed in the same position as in Option 2, only centered along that wall. That way, the curtain wouldn’t be cut off.

  3. will option three put sun in her eyes too early in the summer? what direction does the window face? i might have considered option four but would need to see how far from the door the end of the bed actually ends up.

  4. I think the bed needs to be placed centered on a wall, not up against it. The wall with no openings on it. Then place the furniture around the bed.

  5. Option 2 is the best for my opinion. Center the bed a bit, place the bookcase on one side of the bed (close to the window), and a nightstand with a light fixture on the other side. have a poof, or any other small seat, instead of the big chair, so her friends can sit not on her bed.

  6. Agree with option 3 that is the best, but I will move the bed from the wall and put a night stand with a light fixture on one side (of the door), and the bookcase on the other side (of the window). have a poof (or any small sitting) instead of the big chair, so her friends can sit not on her bed.

  7. Option 2 would work if it were pulled away from the window a bit (perhaps with a small bedside table (‘m picturing a round stool), but putting it o the wall so that she sits up in bed and faces the window is lovely. I might also suggest that the bookcase can act as a bedside table to it in that location and the chair could go in the corner under the window as a reading nook!

    Oh, and I think upholstered headboard for sure since some rich color and texture there will be awesome!

    • I’m researching upholstered headboards this week…I’m finding they’re a little more $$ than I thought they would be. And yes, I could try to DIY it, but that could end in disaster…

  8. Option 3 for the bed in Tessa’s room is the only one that has no problem that you’ve identified. You are right in thinking that it would be more somewhat more effective to see the new bedstead from across the room, as in Option 1, but Option 3 will tend to free the bed up from other impediments and will probably look fine as well as work well.